Board of Directors



  • ⏵Chairman
  • ⏵Non-Executive Director

Laurie has over 20 years' experience as a research director and scientist (biology and environmental science), and 10 years as chief executive in a number of organisations in Australia and New Zealand. He holds multiple national board and advisory roles for innovation policy and programs, and pursues research interests in early-stage equity capital markets and impact of public investment in research.

He is currently an investor and manager of investments in early-stage technology-based companies through iQ Capital Management, of which he is Founder and Director. He also consults to technology companies and public sector clients on commercialisation and management of intellectual property through his advisory business, the KNODE Partnership.


  • ⏵CEO
  • ⏵Executive Director

John is Founder, Chief Executive Officer and Executive Director of Behaviour Innovation Pty Ltd.

Prior to founding Behaviour Innovation in 2016, Dr Pickering was based at The University of Queensland (UQ) where he led the establishment of the Triple P Innovation Precinct - a unit dedicated to investigating the application of behavioural change principles at a population level.

Dr Pickering is an Industry Fellow at the UQ School of Business, served on the The University of Queensland Senate in 2014 and was also appointed to the inaugural Entrepreneurial Education Working Group.



⏵Non-Executive Director

Fiona is an experienced executive and non-executive Director on public company, private and not for profit boards with a successful track record of adapting change management principles to deliver sustained outcomes in large scale, multidisciplinary and geographically diverse internal and external stakeholder groups. Building on tertiary qualifications in natural resources and business over 30 years, her experiences developed from field work to the executive committee in the resources industry.

Fiona is the Executive Director of F.N. Sustainability, and through it, seeks to provide sustainability support to businesses, implementing practical solutions that are innovative, effective and scalable.



⏵Non-Executive Director

Geoff has recently completed six years as Queensland Chief Scientist. He previously led, as Chief Executive, two of the world's major national science agencies, the CSIRO in Australia (2001 to 2008) and CSIR in South Africa (1995 to 2000).

In his Chief Scientist role he was accountable for science policy, and providing strategic guidance across a range of Qld government departments. A Cambridge graduate (in metallurgy) he was also a University Boxing Blue. He was an academic for 13 years.

Geoff is a recipient of the Centenary Medal for service to Australian society through science, and was named by the Australian Financial Review as one of Australia’s 2008 ‘True Leaders’.



⏵Non-Executive Director

Rhyll is an accomplished professional director with a background in finance, banking and investment. Rhyll’s expertise at the board table encompasses finance, strategy, mergers & acquisitions, governance, risk management, people and culture across a diverse range of organisations.Rhyll’s current portfolio includes directorships of Foresters Group, Innovation & Business Skills Australia (IBSA) Ltd, The Blue Space Ltd and Expressions Dance Company. She is a past director of QueenslandSymphony Orchestra, St. Margaret's School and the YWCA.

Rhyll holds qualificatons of Bachelor of Commerce (UQ), Bachelor of Economics (UQ), Masters of Applied Finance (MQ) and an Executive Master of Business Administration from INSEAD. She is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).


⏵Non-Executive Director

Mark is Professor of Innovation Studies at the University of Queensland Business School, and Visiting Professor at Imperial College London.

Mark has advised numerous private-sector companies, and to UK, US, Australian and Asian government departments and agencies. He has researched and lectured widely throughout Europe, North America, Australia, Asia and Latin America and have been an invited participant at international conferences in over 60 countries.

Mark has written or edited 16 books and over 100 academic articles and book chapters on innovation. Mark has been a Board or Advisory Board member of two multi-billion dollar companies and three start-ups. He has advised numerous companies and governments around the world and has researched and taught innovation in over 60 countries. His website can be found at